Nick Monaco

  • Play:
  • Song Name: Naked is My Nature Mix
  • Artist: Nick Monaco
  • Album: ClashMusic Dj Mix - Nick Monaco

Soul Clap Records signee Nick Monaco takes us on a low-slung, funky journey for the latest Clash DJ podcast.

Firmly established as part of the Soul Clap family as the duo begin charting releases on their new label, San Franciscan DJ and producer Nick Monaco’s heady electronic funk – at times reminiscent of Jimmy Edgar – also caught the attention of Claude VonStroke last year, who signed one of his tracks to a Dirtybird ‘Hatched’ comp.

Monaco is creative but not precious in his music tastes, as his Clash mix demonstrates. There’s a Happy Mondays remix, a Busta Rhymes acapella (shedding light on his hip hop background) and Cameo’s nostalgic eighties funk journey, ‘Single Life’, sitting next to underground psyche-funkist Architeq, garage-house duo Maribou State, hip house act Wolf + Lamb, and plenty of Monaco’s own – very strong – tracks. It’s an upfront, undeniable mix, injected with soul and passion. Keep an eye out for Monaco’s rise.

Nick Monaco’s ‘Naked Is My Nature’ EP is out in February on Soul Clap Records.

Nick Monaco tracklist

1. Opposite Sex - Nick Monaco
2. Key West (Break) - Kasso
3. Last Night's Definition of Touch - Soul:ID
4. Mind Games (Feat. Ilija Rudman) - Architeq
5. Step On (Remix '91) (Break) - Happy Mondays
6. Freaks of the Industry - Dubblestandart
7. Butterfly (Acapella) - Nick Monaco
8. Intimate Connection (Break) - Kleer
9. My Baby's Back (Dubapella) - Nick Monaco
10. My Baby's Back - Nick Monaco
11. Single Life (12” Mix) - Cameo
12. Golden Mind (Pional Remix) - Debukas
13. Party Therapy - Nick Monaco
14. The Animal Inside (Acapella) - Nick Monaco
15. Hot Music - Soho
16. Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Can See (Acapella) - Busta Rhymes
17. Liquid Liquid - Cavern
18. Demon Spawn (Lonely C & Baby Prince Remix) (Nick Monaco Edit) - Lucky Paul
19. Naked Is My Nature - Nick Monaco
20. Summerfolds - Maribou State
21. Everybody feat. Evelyn "Champagne" King (Soul Clap Remix) - Miguel Migs
22. Real Love (Nick Monaco's Ode to Marcy Remix) - Wolf + Lamb vs. Pillow Talk